On 23 January 2020, the UK Parliament approved the draft agreement by passing the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020. Following the signing of the Agreement, the Government of the United Kingdom issued and deposited the instrument of ratification of Great Britain on 29 January 2020. [7] [8] The agreement was ratified by the Council of the European Union on 30 January 2020 after obtaining the consent of the European Parliament on 29 January 2020. The withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the Union entered into force on 31 January 2020 at 11 .m GMT, and on that date the Withdrawal Agreement under Article 185 entered into force. The Telegraph`s Asa Bennett tweeted some photos of the prime minister signing copies of the withdrawal agreement for MPs: In order to enter into force, the withdrawal agreement will now be submitted to qualified majority voting in the Council. This bill aims to implement the agreement between the UK and the EU in accordance with Article 50(2) of the Treaty on European Union, which sets out the terms of the UK`s withdrawal from the EU. The transitional period, which begins on 1 February, expires at the end of December 2020. Any agreement on the future relationship between the EU and the UK must be fully concluded before that date if it is to enter into force on 1 January 2021. After the historic vote, President Sassoli said: “It makes me deeply sad to think that we are at this point. Fifty years of integration cannot be solved so easily. We will all have to work hard to build a new relationship that always focuses on the interests and protection of civil rights. It will not be easy. There will be difficult situations that will put our future relationship to the test.

We knew this since the beginning of Brexit. But I am sure that we will be differentiated and that we will always find common ground. The Declaration on the Future Relationship between the European Union and the United Kingdom, also known as the Political Declaration, is a non-binding declaration negotiated and signed at the same time as the binding and broader Withdrawal Agreement in the context of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union (EU), colloquially known as Brexit, and the expected end of the transition period. The withdrawal agreement was approved by the European Parliament on Wednesday evening by 621 votes in favour, 49 against and 13 abstentions. The protocol also provides for a unilateral withdrawal mechanism for Northern Ireland: the Northern Ireland Assembly will vote every four years on the continuation of these agreements, which require a simple majority. These votes will take place two months before the end of each four-year period, with the first period starting at the end of December 2020 (when the transition period is expected to end). [26] If the Assembly is suspended at that time, arrangements will be made for Members to vote […].